Thursday, May 15, 2014

Van Buren County SAFE Coalition Scholarships Awarded this Week!

The Van Buren County SAFE Coalition is committed to making Van Buren County a SAFE place to live. They seek to stimulate community involvement to promote responsible behaviors among youth and adults, leading to SAFE healthy communities. The youth of Van Buren County are key to making this happen.

The coalition works with the community to provide information and programming to help the members of Van Buren County understand the dangers of underage drinking, underage tobacco use, misuse of prescription medications, and illicit drug use.  Thanks to the gracious gift from a former coalition member the SAFE coalition is able each year to award up to two graduating Van Buren County Seniors a scholarship.  The recipients of the scholarships must be active members of the youth coalition and have shown a desire to make a difference in their community. Graduating seniors must complete an application for the scholarship process and explain why they are deserving of the award.

This year the scholarship recipients are Lydia Heald and Faith Murphy. Lydia and Faith have been members of the youth coalition for their entire middle and high school careers.  They have been active in numerous coalition activities and helped to make community changes in Van Buren County to help reduce youth drug, alcohol and tobacco use.  Lydia has been given the honor of being a national youth trainer for CADCA, teaching others how to make changes in their own communities.  Faith has been instrumental in bringing awareness to the dangers of youth marijuana use and providing recommendations for strengthening the school conduct policy to combat this. 

It has been an honor to have Lydia and Faith as part of the SAFE Coalition and the Youth Leadership Council, their work ethic and drive have been an inspiration to their peers and they will be missed. We wish them luck and much success in their future endeavors.

Congratulations to Lydia and Faith on their graduation and receipt of the SAFE Coalition Scholarship for 2014.

YLC is losing some other valuable members this year.  Exceptional Senior Awards were presented to Nicole Coffin, Cassie Johnson and Abby Rider for their contributions to the program. 

For more information about YLC or the SAFE Coalition check us out on Face Book at Van Buren County SAFE Coalition or online at  You can also call the office at 319-293-6412.

No comments: